RasPiComm API

The RasPiComm API is here!

Martin did all the hard work and now it’s online: https://github.com/amescon/raspicomm

Check out the readme.md for instructions on how to install and use it. There is also a Demo-Tool where you can test the basic functions of the board.

We also added a deamon which you can use to forward RS485 communication via TCP/IP. We used it to make an Andoid App to control a stepper motor. Videos will follow soon!

18 responses to “RasPiComm API

  1. CoolWater October 24, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    Thank you ! Now it’s time for rs-components to put the board into the online shop🙂

    Does raspbian also support i2c and spi bus?

  2. Nashblackcat October 25, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Wanted to ask if you have thought of maybe resale of it in the USA?

  3. Robin October 31, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Does the api also provide the RS485 port as a standard serial port eg /dev/ttyS3 ?

  4. michaeljquinn November 20, 2012 at 11:39 am

    Really looking forward to getting hold of Raspicomm. I have configured up a Solar Power monitor with a USB-RS485 adapter but want to free up that port and raspicomm looks perfect. Forms a great basis for a real home automation solution. Can we get on some sort of pre-order list ??

    • Daniel Amesberger November 20, 2012 at 6:14 pm

      I’ll do an update post next week, we now have a quicker way of delivering the boards through RS. I’m sorry that this takes so long, I’m working hard to get the boards out, and I hope next week will be the day where we can ship them to RS for distribution finally.

      • Michal December 5, 2012 at 11:39 am

        Hi,
        Could you please send me your source code to raspicomm that was using MAX3483ECSA+, because I want to use this chip in my project and do know how exactly convert signalls to rs-485. I’m also waiting for RASPICOMM, to use in my second project, when it will be available on RS? I was there today and, haven’t found it yet.

        Best Regards

        Mike

    • Daniel Amesberger December 20, 2012 at 9:37 am

      Sorry, we do not have a pre-order list. The product is now set up with RS, so there is only one final step to have it available on RS.

  5. gpulido November 30, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    Hello,
    Probably is a question that have been already answered but I cannot find it.
    Where Can I bought the raspicomm board?, Is already available to be bought?
    Thank you

  6. tbh December 18, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Any updates on the raspicomm release?

    • Daniel Amesberger December 20, 2012 at 9:48 am

      I won’t make any promises on an exact date because I can barely influence that. The product is already set up with RS, but I still do not have the order. I will do a blogpost later this day with a status update.

Leave a Reply

